Moment #1

So I’m sitting on a stiff couch in the hotel lounge up on the 12th floor.

 

I’m drinking some espresso drink from the automatic machine to keep from passing out before it can brush my teeth; my feet are sore, it’s been a long day.

All of a sudden I look out the window and see Copenhagen’s lights twinkling in the distance. I notice the ambient music playing — all dynamic melody with twangy acoustic guitar parts and minor chords and resolutions. The moon, nearly full, an off-white sort of yellow to mirror the lights below, rises over the city, through the clouds. Only for a moment before being swallowed again by the black.

And in this singular moment I feel that I am exactly where I am supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

