Basic Information

So, I know usually on something like this I will put in a couple of posts about the university, the program, the city/country, etc., but I’m going to do things a little differently this time. Certainly you can get all kinds of information from .gov websites and Wikipedia, but I feel like explaining things as I experience them will be something rewarding for all of us.

Once the term starts, I will sign up for Danish language and culture classes — then I will be able to share about Denmark as the Danes see it, and have learned it themselves. I will try to write one post per week dedicated solely to the Danish language and the trials (and possible fun) involved in learning it, trying to speaking it, and probably butchering it like an autumn cow for a while.

What I’ve been able to get so far:
Ã…rhus (pronounced oar-hoos) is the second-largest city in Denmark (next to Copenhagen) and one of the largest cities in Scandinavia with a population of approximately 350,000. There are at least 40,000 students in attendance at Aarhus University, and other institutions of higher learning are around the city as well.

Leave a Reply

